Board and executive management

John van Kuffeler, Founder and Group Chief Executive

John was Chief Executive and then Chairman of Provident Financial plc for a combined total of 22 years until December 2013. He was Chairman of Marlin Financial Group Limited, the consumer debt purchasing company, for four years until its sale in February 2014 and was also Chairman of Hyperion Insurance Group Limited for five years until December 2013. John was previously Chief Executive of Brown Shipley Holdings PLC which included Medens Trust Limited, a consumer car finance company, and was Chairman of the credit committee of Brown Shipley Holdings PLC’s main banking subsidiary, Brown, Shipley & Co. Limited.

Committee memberships
Nomination committee

Nick Teunon, Chief Financial Officer

Nick was Chief Financial Officer of Marlin Financial Group Limited, the consumer debt purchasing company, from August 2013 until June 2014. Prior to that, Nick spent five years as Chief Financial Officer of FTSE International, joining from the Press Association, where he was Group Finance & Strategy Director for seven years. At both FTSE International and the Press Association, Nick was responsible for all mergers and acquisitions activity and related debt funding, in addition to leading the finance function. Nick has previous experience as finance director of a public company based on his time at Water Hall Group plc.

Miles Cresswell Turner, Executive Director

Prior to becoming Executive Director, full-time, at NSF on 1 January 2016, Miles was a partner in Duke Street LLP who specialised in the finance sector and who led on the acquisitions by Duke Street LLP of Marlin Financial Group Limited and UKWM Limited. Before becoming a partner at Duke Street LLP, Miles was a partner at Palamon Capital Partners LLP from 1998 to 2008, where he led the investment in Towry Law plc. Prior to Palamon Capital Partners LLP, Miles spent seven years as a director in the Leveraged Finance Department of HSBC Investment Bank.

Charles Gregson, Non-Executive Chairman

Charles is Non-Executive Chairman of Nex Group plc. He is also a Non-executive Director, Senior Independent Director and Chair of the Remuneration Committee of Caledonia Investments Plc. He was previously Non-Executive Chairman of ICAP plc from 1988 to 2016; Non-Executive Chairman of Wagon Finance Group Limited, from 1996 to 2006; Non-executive Director and Deputy Chairman of Provident Financial plc from 1998 to 2007; and Non-executive Director of International Personal Finance Plc from 2007 to 2010. Charles is a former Chairman of CPP Group Plc and of St James's Place Plc. Charles was Executive Director of United Business Media Plc (formerly MAI Plc) from 1985 to 2003 and Global CEO and Chairman of PR Newswire from 2003 to 2009. As part of his responsibilities at United Business Media Plc, Charles built Harlow Meyer Savage from a small money broking business into the international business of Garban PLC, a listed company with offices in 25 countries, which later merged with ICAP plc.

Committee memberships
Audit committee (Chair)
Nomination committee (Chair)
Remuneration committee (Chair)
Risk committee

Heather McGregor, Independent Non-Executive Director

Professor Heather McGregor is the Executive Dean of Edinburgh Business School, the Graduate School of Business of Heriot-Watt University. She is also Chairwoman of the executive search firm Taylor Bennett. In her early career she worked in financial communications and investor relations before joining ABN Amro as a sell-side analyst. She then spent eight years with the bank, working in London, Hong Kong, Singapore and Tokyo, before joining Taylor Bennett in 2000. She has an MBA from the London Business School and a PhD from the University of Hong Kong. Heather was the founder of the Taylor Bennett Foundation, which works to promote diversity in the communications industry, and is a founding member of the steering committee of the 30% Club, which is working to raise the representation of women at senior levels within the UK’s publicly quoted companies. She is also an experienced writer and broadcaster in the national media.

Committee memberships
Audit committee
Nomination committee
Remuneration committee
Risk committee (Chair)